Skip to Main Content

Library Guide - Full-Time Non-Academic Staff

Going Online

Wi-Fi Coverage

The Academy Library and the Film and Television Library are covered by wireless network for users to access information on the Internet. Users can access the Internet with their portable devices through different networks. For details, please refer to the webpage on Wi-Fi Connection.

Wi-Fi Printing

Wi-Fi printing service is offered in both libraries, allowing users to print from their laptops or mobile devices to the designated multi-function photocopier. Online guide is available.

Library Website

Information about the Academy Libraries and links to resources are posted in the Library Website.  It not only provides users with general library information, news about library activities, new additions, and library workshops but also connects users to the library resources and services.

Library Guides

Library Guides on cloud-based LibGuides platform aim to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services. Some are Subject Guides that provide subject-specific information and links to lists of books, journals and electronic resources. Others are how-to guides that provide step-by-step directions on using library facilities. You will find them particularly useful when you are working from home.

Research Tools

The Library provides academic writing tools, online reference management service and similarity detection software to help students to prepare and submit their assignments with proper citations and well manage their reference lists.

Electronic Resources

The Library subscribes to many electronic resources related to performing arts. There are different ways to access them. 

1. Go to Primo@Lib

  • Select Library Catalogue+ from the pull down menu on the right hand side of the search bar.
  • Enter keywords to search,
  • You can then filter the search results with suggested fields, e.g. Resource Type = Article or Journal Article.

2. From the Library Homepage

  • Click Database A-Z under the Search Box

3. Go to the Library Homepage.

Login is not required if you access them on campus. You have to log in with your Academy ID / Ref No. and password if you are accessing from remote, except for those open resources.

Digital Resources

The Libraries also maintain two Digital Collections, namely HKAPA Digital and the AudioMiner. A user guide on Library Digital Resources is available.

HKAPA Digital

With the launch of the Digital Performing Arts Repository (DPAR) in 2013, selected items from the Academy Archive  have been digitalised and kept in DPAR for ease of reference.  It consists of documents, images, audios and videos of the Academy's productions, publications, theses and local performing arts resources.

The Library has migrated most items from DPAR to the new platform HKAPA Digital for enhanced search experience and unified resources management.

AudioMiner (campus access only)

AudioMiner is an online digital audio collection offering about 282,270 sound effects files and 45,300 production music tracks for use in Academy productions. It also offers 5.1 surround sound effects libraries to meet the requirements of HD productions. Users can search by different criteria to find the right sound or music tracks.

A collection of sound effect files of local ambiance created by the students and teachers of the School of the Film and Television has been added into the AudioMiner for the use of Academy staff and students.