Skip to main content

Subject Guide - Music

Finding Print and Physical Items

To search for print / physical materials, refine your results by specifying the "Availability" or the "Resource Type" listed on the right. 

Search

undefined

undefined

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Music

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Music

Music - General

M1 - 3.3

  1. Collections of Works by Two or More Composers

M1

  1. Scholarly Collections of Historical Sources (Incl. Facsimile Ed.)

M2 - 2.3

  1. Collected Works of Individual Composers

M3 - 3.3

- Complete Editions

M3

- Selected Works

M3.1

- First Editions

M3.3

Outline of Classification Numbers

Instrumental Music

M4 - 1490

  1. Collections (by 2 or More Composers for Various Combination of Instruments)

M5

  1. Solo Instruments

m6 - 175.5

- Keyboard Instruments

M6 - 39.5

 - Organ, Electronic Organ

M6 - 14.85

- Piano, Harpsichord, Clavichord, etc.

M20 - 39.6

- String Instruments

M40 - 59.

- Violin

M40 - 44

- Viola

M45 - 49

- Violoncello

M50 - 54

- Other String Instruments (e.g. Double Bass, Er Hu)    

M55 - 59

- Wind Instruments

M60 - 111

- Flute

M60 - 64

- Oboe

M65 - 69

- Clarinet

M70 - 74

- Bassoon

M75 - 79

- Horn

M80 - 84

- Trumpet

M85 - 89

- Trombone

M90 - 94

- Tuba

M95 - 99

- Saxophone

M105 - 109

- Other

M110 - 111

- Plucked instruments

M115 - 143

- Harp

M115 - 119

- Guitar

M125 - 129

- Zither

M135 - 139

- Lute

M140 - 141

- Other

M142 - 143

- Percussion & Others (e.g. Drum, Marimba, Sheng, Yang Qin)

M145 - 175.5

  1. Chamber Music

m177 - 990

- Collections for Various Numbers of Solo Instruments

M177 - 179

- Duets (Incl. Piano, Four Hands)

m180 - 298.5

- Trios

m300 - 386

- Quartets

m400 - 486

- String Quartet (2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello)

M452

- Quintets

m500 - 586

- Sextets

m600 - 686

- Septets

m700 - 786

- Octets

m800 - 886

- Nonets & Larger Combinations of Purely Chamber Music

m900 - 986

- Chamber Music for Instruments of the 18th Century & Earlier

m990

  1. Orchestra

m1000 - 1075

- Collections

M1000

- Symphonies

M1001

- Symphonic Poems

M1002

- Suites. Variations

M1003

- Overtures

M1004

- Solo Instrument with Orchestra

M1004.5 - 1041

- Piano, Harpsichord, Clavichords, etc.

M1010 - 1011

- Stringed Instruments

M1012 - 1019

- Violin

M1012 - 1013

- Others (e.g. Viola, Viola da Gamba, Er Hu)

M1014 - 1019

- Wind Instruments (e.g. Flute, Tuba, Di Zi, Suo Na)

M1020 - 1035

- Plucked Instruments (e.g. Harp, Guitar, Pi Pa)

M1036 - 1037.4

- Percussion & Other Instruments

M1038 - 1039.4

- Concertos for Orchestra

M1042

- Orchestral Pieces (Incl. March, Polka, Waltz)

M1045 - 1049

  1. String Orchestra

m1100 - 1160

- Collections

M1100

- Symphonies          

M1101

- Suites. Variations  

M1103

- Overtures

M1104

- Solo Instrument with String Orchestra (Incl. Concertos)

M1105 - 1141

- Piano, Harpsichord, Clavichords, etc.

M1110 - 1111

- Stringed Instruments

M1112 - 1119

- Violin           

M1112 - 1113

- Wind Instruments

M1120 - 1135

- Plucked Instruments

M1136 - 1137.4

- Percussion & Other Instruments

M1138 - 1139.4

- Two or More Different Solo Instruments

M1140 - 1141

- Concertos for String Orchestra

M1142

- Other Pieces

M1145 - 1147

- Arrangements

M1160

  1. Band

m1200 - 1270

  1. Dance Orchestra & Instrumental Ensembles

m1356

  1. Plucked Instrument Orchestra

m1360

  1. Accordion Ensemble

M1362

  1. Steel Band

M1363

  1. Jazz Ensembles

m1366

  1. Instrumental Music for Children

m1375 - 1420

- One Instrument

M1375 - 1385

- Duets

M1389 - 1410

- Orchestra. Band (Including toy orchestra)

M1420

  1. Dance Music

m1450

  1. Aleatory Music

m1470

  1. Electronic Music

m1473

Outline of Classification Numbers

Vocal Music

M1495 - 5000

  1. Collections

M1495

  1. Secular Vocal Music

M1497 - 1998

- Collections

M1497

- Operas, Musicals (for Chinese Operas, see M1805.3-4)

M1500 - 1508.2

- Incidental Music

M1510 - 1518

- Ballets and Other Theatrical Dances

M1520 - 1526

- Motion Picture Music

M1527 - 1527.2

- Television Music

M1527.7 - 1527.8

- Duets, Trios, etc. for two or more Solo Voices

M1528 - 1529.5

- Accompany with Orchestra, Other Ensemble, or Electronics

M1528 - 1529

- Accompany with One Instrument or Unaccompanied

M1529.2 - 1529.5

- Choruses

M1530 - 1610

- Mixed Voices

M1530 - 1537

- Men’s Voices

M1538 - 1542

- Treble Voices

M1543 - 1546

- Children’s Voices

M1546.5

- Songs / Solo Cantatas, for One Solo Voice

M1611 - 1624.8

- Recitations, with Accompaniment

M1625 - 1626

- Folk, National, and Ethnic Music

M1627 - 1853

- Collections

M1627

- North and South America, Central America (Incl. United States, Canada, Latin America, Mexico, Brazil)

M1628 - 1694.2

- Europe (Incl. Hungary, Greece, France, Great Britain, Spain)

M1698 - 1789

- Asia

M1795 - 1825

- China

M1804 - M1805.4

- Tibet

M1824.T5

- Africa

M1830 - 1838

- Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Jews

M1840 - 1853

- Songs of Specific Groups or Specific Topics

M1977 - 1978

- Musical Games

M1985

- Secular Vocal Music for Children

M1990 - 1998

  1. Sacred Vocal Music

M1999 - 2199

- Collections

M1999

- Oratorios, Liturgical Dramas, Sacred Musicals

M2000 - 2007

- Choral Services

M2010 - 2017.6

- Roman Catholic (Masses. Requiems)

M2010 - 2014.6

- Orthodox

M2015

- Jewish

M2017.6

- Duets, Trios, etc. for Two or More Solo Voices

M2018 - 2019.5

- Choruses, Cantatas, etc. Acc. with Orch. or Instrumental Ensemble.

M2020 - 2036

- Choruses, Part-songs, etc. Acc. with One Instrument or Unacc. Unison Choruses.

M2060 - 2101.5

- Songs, Arias, Solo Cantatas for One Solo Voice

M2102 - 2114.8

-Hymnals

M2115 - 2146

- Liturgical Music

M2147 - 2188

- Gospel, Revival, Temperance, Songs, Contemporary Christian Music, etc.

M2198 - 2199

  1.   Unidentified Compositions (Incl. Excerpts, Fragments, etc., Published or in Manuscript)

M5000

Outline of Classification Numbers

 

Literature on Music

ML1 - 3930

  1. Periodicals. Serials. Directories. Almanacs.

ML1 - 21

  1. Societies & Organizations. Institutions

ML25 - 33

  1. Festivals, Congress

ML35 - 38

  1. Programs. Circular and Advertisement. Scrapbooks

ML40 - 46

- Operas

ML40

- Concerts

ML42

- Others

ML44

  1. Librettos. Texts. Scenarios

ML47 - 54.8

  1. Collections of Essays, Articles, etc

ML55 - 60

  1. Grants and Scholarships

ML62

  1. Computers and Music

ML73 - 74.4

  1. Competitions, prizes, etc.

ML75.5 - 76

  1. Manuscripts and Manuscript Studies

ML93 - 97

  1. Dictionaries.  Encyclopedias

ML100 - 109

  1. Music Librarianship

ML110 -111.5

  1. Music Printing and Publishing

ML112 - 112.5

  1. Bibliography

ML112.8 -158.8

  1. History and Criticism

ML159 - 3785

- General Works

ML159 - 161

- Special Periods

ML162 - 197

- By Region or Country

ML198.5 - 360.6

- Biography

ML385 - 429

- Composition

ML430 - 455

- Interpretation, Performance Practice, Conducting

ML457 - 458

- Instruments and Instrumental Music

ML459 - 1380

- General Works

ML460

- Catalogs of Musical Instruments, and Exhibitions

ML461 - 462

- By Period

ML465 - 471

- By Region or Country

ML475 - 548

- Instruments

ML549 - 1093

- Keyboard Instruments

ML549 - 747

- String Instruments

ML749.5 - 927

- Wind Instruments

ML929 - 990

- Plucked Instruments

ML999 - 1015

- Percussion Instruments

ML1030 - 1049

- Mechanical and Other Instruments

ML1049.8 - 1091

- Electronic Instruments

ML1091.8 - 1093

- Chamber Music

ML1100 - 1215

- Orchestral Music

ML1200 - 1270

- Band Music

ML1299 - 1354

- Electronic Music, Computer Music

ML1379 - 1380

- Vocal Music

ML1400 - 3275

- Program Music

ML3300 - 3354

- Dance Music

ML3400 - 3465

- Popular Music

ML3469 - 3543

- Folk. National. Ethnic Music

ML3544 - 3776

- America

ML3545 - 3575

- Europe

ML3580 - 3730

- Asia (China, Taiwan, India, Japan, Korea, Turkey)

ML3740 - 3758

- Africa

ML3760 - 3760.6

- Australia

ML3770

- Jews

ML3776

  1. Music Trade

ML3790 - 3792

  1. Music as a Profession. Vocational Guidance

ML3795

  1. Musical Research (Including Methods of Research)

ML3797 – 3799.5

  1. Philosophy and Physics of Music

ML3800 - 3923

- Physics & Acoustics

ML3805 - 3817

- Physiological Aspects

ML3820 - 3822

- Psychology

Ml3830 - 3840

- Aesthetics

ML3845 - 3877

- Criticism

ML3880 - 3890

- Social and Political Aspects of Music

ML3916 - 3918

- Music Therapy

ML3919 - 3920

- Religious Aspects

ML3921 - 3921.8

  1. Literature on Music for Children

ML3928 - 3930

Outline of Classification Numbers

Musical Instruction & Study

MT 1 - 999

  1. General Works. History

Mt1 - 5

  1. Music Theory

Mt5.5 - 7

  1. Examinations, Exercise, etc

MT9

  1. Teachers’ Manuals, Outlines of Courses, etc

Mt10

  1. Music in Colleges and University

MT18

  1. Specific Systems and Methods

Mt20 - 34

  1. Notation (General Includes Dictation, Ear-training, etc.)

Mt35 - 39

- Computer Production of Music Notation

MT39

  1. Composition

MT40 - 67

- Counterpoint. Polyphony

MT55

- Electronic, Computer Music

MT56

- Forms and Genres

MT58 - 67

  1. Improvisation.  Accompaniment.  Transposition

MT68

  1. Instrumentation and Orchestration

MT70 - 74

- Orchestra

MT70 - 71

- Band

MT73

  1. Interpretation

MT75

  1. Embellishment

MT80

  1. Memorizing

MT82

  1. Conducting. Score Reading and Playing. Management. Administration & Instruction of Vocal Groups

MT85 - 88

  1. Analysis and Appreciation of Musical Works

MT90 - 146

- Individual Composers

MT92

- Dramatic Music

MT95 - 100

- Choral Music (Including Oratorios, Cantatas, etc.)

MT110 - 115

- Solo Voice(s) (Including Songs, Part Songs, etc.)

MT120 - 121

- Orchestral Music

MT125 - 130

- Band Music

MT135 - 136

- Chamber and Solo Instrumental Music

MT140 - 145

- Popular Music

MT146

  1. Audio-visual Aids

MT150

  1. Music Theory for Children

MT155

  1. Tuning

MT165

  1. Instrumental Techniques

MT170 - 810

- General

MT170

- Methods for Several Instruments in One Work

MT172

- Keyboard Instruments: Organ, Piano

MT179 - 258

- String Instruments: Violin, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass, etc.

MT259 - 338

- Wind Instruments: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, etc.

MT339 - 533

- Plucked Instruments: Harp, Banjo, Guitar, Mandolin, etc.

MT539 - 654

- Percussion and Other Instruments

MT655 - 725

- Chamber Music

MT728 - 728.3

- Band

MT733 - 733.7

- Motion Picture Music

MT737

- Techniques for Children

MT740 - 810

  1. Singing and Vocal Technique

MT820 - 915

- General

MT820

- Physiology and Care of the Voice

MT821

- Singing. Instruction and Study, History

MT823

- Systems and Methods

MT825 - 850

- Special Techniques

MT855 - 883

- Studies & Exercises

MT885

- Interpretation, Phrasing, Expression, etc.

MT892

- Self-instructors

MT893

- Vocal Technique for Children

MT898 - 915

  1. School Music

MT918 - 949

  1. Music to Accompany Instruction in Ballet, Gymnastics, etc.

MT950

  1. Musical Theater (Production. Performing. Incl. Operas, Musicals, etc.)

MT955 - 956