Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Theatre Collection 1 & 2
National Theatre Collection 1 on Alexander Street Press
Covers more than 20 live world class performance videos, offering the exclusive digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatres archive.
National Theatre Collection 2 on Drama Online
National Theatre Collection 2 features high-quality archive recordings of the Royal National Theatre's performances from Shakespeare Plays to The Young Chekhov trilogy.
National Theatre Collection 2 選錄 Royal National Theatre 的高質素表演錄像 ，此系列包含從莎士比亞戲劇到青年契訶夫三部曲等劇目。
All My Sons
This Old Vic production was recorded through National Theatre Live on 14th May 2019.
America, 1947. Despite hard choices and even harder knocks, Joe and Kate Keller are a success story. They have built a home, raised two sons and established a thriving business.
But nothing lasts forever and their contented lives, already shadowed by the loss of their eldest boy to war, are about to shatter. With the return of a figure from the past, long buried truths are forced to the surface and the price of their American dream is laid bare.
From the Old Vic, Jeremy Herrin directs Sally Field and Bill Pullman in Arthur Miller’s blistering drama.
This Donmar Warehouse production was recorded through National Theatre Live on 30th January, 2014
When an old adversary threatens Rome, the city calls once more on her hero and defender: Coriolanus. But he has enemies at home too. Famine threatens the city, the citizens’ hunger swells to an appetite for change, and on returning from the field Coriolanus must confront the march of realpolitik and the voice of an angry people.
Shakespeare’s searing tragedy of political manipulation and revenge, Coriolanus features an Evening Standard Award-winning performance from Tom Hiddleston in the title role, directed by the Donmar's former Artistic Director Josie Rourke.
Frankenstein (Benedict Cumberbatch as Creature)
This production was recorded through National Theatre Live on 17th March, 2011.
Childlike in his innocence but grotesque in form, Frankenstein’s bewildered Creature is cast out into a hostile universe by his horror-struck maker. Meeting with cruelty wherever he goes, the friendless Creature, increasingly desperate and vengeful, determines to track down his creator and strike a terrifying deal.
Urgent concerns of scientific responsibility, parental neglect, cognitive development and the nature of good and evil are embedded within this thrilling and deeply disturbing classic gothic tale.
The production was a sell-out hit at the National Theatre in 2011, and the broadcast has since become an international sensation, experienced by almost half a million people in cinemas around the world. Jonny Lee Miller plays Victor Frankenstein and Benedict Cumberbatch his creation in this performance of Danny Boyle's smash-hit production of Frankenstein.
Recorded through National Theatre Live on 6th September, 2018.
Wild and single, Julie throws a huge party in her luxurious London house which rapidly descends into a fight for her own survival.
Fuelled by social division, August Strindberg’s masterpiece Miss Julie remains shocking and fiercely relevant in this new version by Polly Stenham set in contemporary London.
A View from the Bridge
This Young Vic production was captured from London’s West End on 26th March, 2015.
In Brooklyn, longshoreman Eddie Carbone welcomes his Sicilian cousins to the land of freedom. But when one of them falls for his beautiful niece, they discover that freedom comes at a price. Eddie’s jealous mistrust exposes a deep, unspeakable secret – one that drives him to commit the ultimate betrayal.
The visionary Ivo van Hove directs this stunning production of Arthur Miller’s tragic masterpiece about the American dream.
This Young Vic production was recorded through National Theatre Live on 31st August, 2017.
A young woman is driven to the unthinkable by her desperate desire to have a child in Lorca’s classic tragedy about honour, family and female empowerment. Set in contemporary London, Piper’s portrayal of a woman in her thirties desperate to conceive builds with elemental force to a staggering, shocking, climax.
The theatre phenomenon sold out at the Young Vic and critics called it ‘an extraordinary theatrical triumph’ (The Times) and ‘stunning, searing, unmissable’ (Mail on Sunday). Billie Piper’s lead performance was described as ‘spellbinding’ (The Evening Standard), ‘astonishing’ (iNews) and ‘devastatingly powerful’ (The Daily Telegraph).
Billie Piper won an Evening Standard Best Actress award for her performance in Simon Stone’s radical production of Lorca’s achingly powerful masterpiece.