Skip to main content

Outline of Classification Numbers: Home

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Music

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Music

Music - General

M1 - 3.3

  1. Collections of Works by Two or More Composers

M1

  1. Scholarly Collections of Historical Sources (Incl. Facsimile Ed.)

M2 - 2.3

  1. Collected Works of Individual Composers

M3 - 3.3

- Complete Editions

M3

- Selected Works

M3.1

- First Editions

M3.3

Outline of Classification Numbers

Instrumental Music

M4 - 1490

  1. Collections (by 2 or More Composers for Various Combination of Instruments)

M5

  1. Solo Instruments

m6 - 175.5

- Keyboard Instruments

M6 - 39.5

 - Organ, Electronic Organ

M6 - 14.85

- Piano, Harpsichord, Clavichord, etc.

M20 - 39.6

- String Instruments

M40 - 59.

- Violin

M40 - 44

- Viola

M45 - 49

- Violoncello

M50 - 54

- Other String Instruments (e.g. Double Bass, Er Hu)    

M55 - 59

- Wind Instruments

M60 - 111

- Flute

M60 - 64

- Oboe

M65 - 69

- Clarinet

M70 - 74

- Bassoon

M75 - 79

- Horn

M80 - 84

- Trumpet

M85 - 89

- Trombone

M90 - 94

- Tuba

M95 - 99

- Saxophone

M105 - 109

- Other

M110 - 111

- Plucked instruments

M115 - 143

- Harp

M115 - 119

- Guitar

M125 - 129

- Zither

M135 - 139

- Lute

M140 - 141

- Other

M142 - 143

- Percussion & Others (e.g. Drum, Marimba, Sheng, Yang Qin)

M145 - 175.5

  1. Chamber Music

m177 - 990

- Collections for Various Numbers of Solo Instruments

M177 - 179

- Duets (Incl. Piano, Four Hands)

m180 - 298.5

- Trios

m300 - 386

- Quartets

m400 - 486

- String Quartet (2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello)

M452

- Quintets

m500 - 586

- Sextets

m600 - 686

- Septets

m700 - 786

- Octets

m800 - 886

- Nonets & Larger Combinations of Purely Chamber Music

m900 - 986

- Chamber Music for Instruments of the 18th Century & Earlier

m990

  1. Orchestra

m1000 - 1075

- Collections

M1000

- Symphonies

M1001

- Symphonic Poems

M1002

- Suites. Variations

M1003

- Overtures

M1004

- Solo Instrument with Orchestra

M1004.5 - 1041

- Piano, Harpsichord, Clavichords, etc.

M1010 - 1011

- Stringed Instruments

M1012 - 1019

- Violin

M1012 - 1013

- Others (e.g. Viola, Viola da Gamba, Er Hu)

M1014 - 1019

- Wind Instruments (e.g. Flute, Tuba, Di Zi, Suo Na)

M1020 - 1035

- Plucked Instruments (e.g. Harp, Guitar, Pi Pa)

M1036 - 1037.4

- Percussion & Other Instruments

M1038 - 1039.4

- Concertos for Orchestra

M1042

- Orchestral Pieces (Incl. March, Polka, Waltz)

M1045 - 1049

  1. String Orchestra

m1100 - 1160

- Collections

M1100

- Symphonies          

M1101

- Suites. Variations  

M1103

- Overtures

M1104

- Solo Instrument with String Orchestra (Incl. Concertos)

M1105 - 1141

- Piano, Harpsichord, Clavichords, etc.

M1110 - 1111

- Stringed Instruments

M1112 - 1119

- Violin           

M1112 - 1113

- Wind Instruments

M1120 - 1135

- Plucked Instruments

M1136 - 1137.4

- Percussion & Other Instruments

M1138 - 1139.4

- Two or More Different Solo Instruments

M1140 - 1141

- Concertos for String Orchestra

M1142

- Other Pieces

M1145 - 1147

- Arrangements

M1160

  1. Band

m1200 - 1270

  1. Dance Orchestra & Instrumental Ensembles

m1356

  1. Plucked Instrument Orchestra

m1360

  1. Accordion Ensemble

M1362

  1. Steel Band

M1363

  1. Jazz Ensembles

m1366

  1. Instrumental Music for Children

m1375 - 1420

- One Instrument

M1375 - 1385

- Duets

M1389 - 1410

- Orchestra. Band (Including toy orchestra)

M1420

  1. Dance Music

m1450

  1. Aleatory Music

m1470

  1. Electronic Music

m1473

Outline of Classification Numbers

Vocal Music

M1495 - 5000

  1. Collections

M1495

  1. Secular Vocal Music

M1497 - 1998

- Collections

M1497

- Operas, Musicals (for Chinese Operas, see M1805.3-4)

M1500 - 1508.2

- Incidental Music

M1510 - 1518

- Ballets and Other Theatrical Dances

M1520 - 1526

- Motion Picture Music

M1527 - 1527.2

- Television Music

M1527.7 - 1527.8

- Duets, Trios, etc. for two or more Solo Voices

M1528 - 1529.5

- Accompany with Orchestra, Other Ensemble, or Electronics

M1528 - 1529

- Accompany with One Instrument or Unaccompanied

M1529.2 - 1529.5

- Choruses

M1530 - 1610

- Mixed Voices

M1530 - 1537

- Men’s Voices

M1538 - 1542

- Treble Voices

M1543 - 1546

- Children’s Voices

M1546.5

- Songs / Solo Cantatas, for One Solo Voice

M1611 - 1624.8

- Recitations, with Accompaniment

M1625 - 1626

- Folk, National, and Ethnic Music

M1627 - 1853

- Collections

M1627

- North and South America, Central America (Incl. United States, Canada, Latin America, Mexico, Brazil)

M1628 - 1694.2

- Europe (Incl. Hungary, Greece, France, Great Britain, Spain)

M1698 - 1789

- Asia

M1795 - 1825

- China

M1804 - M1805.4

- Tibet

M1824.T5

- Africa

M1830 - 1838

- Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Jews

M1840 - 1853

- Songs of Specific Groups or Specific Topics

M1977 - 1978

- Musical Games

M1985

- Secular Vocal Music for Children

M1990 - 1998

  1. Sacred Vocal Music

M1999 - 2199

- Collections

M1999

- Oratorios, Liturgical Dramas, Sacred Musicals

M2000 - 2007

- Choral Services

M2010 - 2017.6

- Roman Catholic (Masses. Requiems)

M2010 - 2014.6

- Orthodox

M2015

- Jewish

M2017.6

- Duets, Trios, etc. for Two or More Solo Voices

M2018 - 2019.5

- Choruses, Cantatas, etc. Acc. with Orch. or Instrumental Ensemble.

M2020 - 2036

- Choruses, Part-songs, etc. Acc. with One Instrument or Unacc. Unison Choruses.

M2060 - 2101.5

- Songs, Arias, Solo Cantatas for One Solo Voice

M2102 - 2114.8

-Hymnals

M2115 - 2146

- Liturgical Music

M2147 - 2188

- Gospel, Revival, Temperance, Songs, Contemporary Christian Music, etc.

M2198 - 2199

  1.   Unidentified Compositions (Incl. Excerpts, Fragments, etc., Published or in Manuscript)

M5000

Outline of Classification Numbers

 

Literature on Music

ML1 - 3930

  1. Periodicals. Serials. Directories. Almanacs.

ML1 - 21

  1. Societies & Organizations. Institutions

ML25 - 33

  1. Festivals, Congress

ML35 - 38

  1. Programs. Circular and Advertisement. Scrapbooks

ML40 - 46

- Operas

ML40

- Concerts

ML42

- Others

ML44

  1. Librettos. Texts. Scenarios

ML47 - 54.8

  1. Collections of Essays, Articles, etc

ML55 - 60

  1. Grants and Scholarships

ML62

  1. Computers and Music

ML73 - 74.4

  1. Competitions, prizes, etc.

ML75.5 - 76

  1. Manuscripts and Manuscript Studies

ML93 - 97

  1. Dictionaries.  Encyclopedias

ML100 - 109

  1. Music Librarianship

ML110 -111.5

  1. Music Printing and Publishing

ML112 - 112.5

  1. Bibliography

ML112.8 -158.8

  1. History and Criticism

ML159 - 3785

- General Works

ML159 - 161

- Special Periods

ML162 - 197

- By Region or Country

ML198.5 - 360.6

- Biography

ML385 - 429

- Composition

ML430 - 455

- Interpretation, Performance Practice, Conducting

ML457 - 458

- Instruments and Instrumental Music

ML459 - 1380

- General Works

ML460

- Catalogs of Musical Instruments, and Exhibitions

ML461 - 462

- By Period

ML465 - 471

- By Region or Country

ML475 - 548

- Instruments

ML549 - 1093

- Keyboard Instruments

ML549 - 747

- String Instruments

ML749.5 - 927

- Wind Instruments

ML929 - 990

- Plucked Instruments

ML999 - 1015

- Percussion Instruments

ML1030 - 1049

- Mechanical and Other Instruments

ML1049.8 - 1091

- Electronic Instruments

ML1091.8 - 1093

- Chamber Music

ML1100 - 1215

- Orchestral Music

ML1200 - 1270

- Band Music

ML1299 - 1354

- Electronic Music, Computer Music

ML1379 - 1380

- Vocal Music

ML1400 - 3275

- Program Music

ML3300 - 3354

- Dance Music

ML3400 - 3465

- Popular Music

ML3469 - 3543

- Folk. National. Ethnic Music

ML3544 - 3776

- America

ML3545 - 3575

- Europe

ML3580 - 3730

- Asia (China, Taiwan, India, Japan, Korea, Turkey)

ML3740 - 3758

- Africa

ML3760 - 3760.6

- Australia

ML3770

- Jews

ML3776

  1. Music Trade

ML3790 - 3792

  1. Music as a Profession. Vocational Guidance

ML3795

  1. Musical Research (Including Methods of Research)

ML3797 – 3799.5

  1. Philosophy and Physics of Music

ML3800 - 3923

- Physics & Acoustics

ML3805 - 3817

- Physiological Aspects

ML3820 - 3822

- Psychology

Ml3830 - 3840

- Aesthetics

ML3845 - 3877

- Criticism

ML3880 - 3890

- Social and Political Aspects of Music

ML3916 - 3918

- Music Therapy

ML3919 - 3920

- Religious Aspects

ML3921 - 3921.8

  1. Literature on Music for Children

ML3928 - 3930

Outline of Classification Numbers

Musical Instruction & Study

MT 1 - 999

  1. General Works. History

Mt1 - 5

  1. Music Theory

Mt5.5 - 7

  1. Examinations, Exercise, etc

MT9

  1. Teachers’ Manuals, Outlines of Courses, etc

Mt10

  1. Music in Colleges and University

MT18

  1. Specific Systems and Methods

Mt20 - 34

  1. Notation (General Includes Dictation, Ear-training, etc.)

Mt35 - 39

- Computer Production of Music Notation

MT39

  1. Composition

MT40 - 67

- Counterpoint. Polyphony

MT55

- Electronic, Computer Music

MT56

- Forms and Genres

MT58 - 67

  1. Improvisation.  Accompaniment.  Transposition

MT68

  1. Instrumentation and Orchestration

MT70 - 74

- Orchestra

MT70 - 71

- Band

MT73

  1. Interpretation

MT75

  1. Embellishment

MT80

  1. Memorizing

MT82

  1. Conducting. Score Reading and Playing. Management. Administration & Instruction of Vocal Groups

MT85 - 88

  1. Analysis and Appreciation of Musical Works

MT90 - 146

- Individual Composers

MT92

- Dramatic Music

MT95 - 100

- Choral Music (Including Oratorios, Cantatas, etc.)

MT110 - 115

- Solo Voice(s) (Including Songs, Part Songs, etc.)

MT120 - 121

- Orchestral Music

MT125 - 130

- Band Music

MT135 - 136

- Chamber and Solo Instrumental Music

MT140 - 145

- Popular Music

MT146

  1. Audio-visual Aids

MT150

  1. Music Theory for Children

MT155

  1. Tuning

MT165

  1. Instrumental Techniques

MT170 - 810

- General

MT170

- Methods for Several Instruments in One Work

MT172

- Keyboard Instruments: Organ, Piano

MT179 - 258

- String Instruments: Violin, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass, etc.

MT259 - 338

- Wind Instruments: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, etc.

MT339 - 533

- Plucked Instruments: Harp, Banjo, Guitar, Mandolin, etc.

MT539 - 654

- Percussion and Other Instruments

MT655 - 725

- Chamber Music

MT728 - 728.3

- Band

MT733 - 733.7

- Motion Picture Music

MT737

- Techniques for Children

MT740 - 810

  1. Singing and Vocal Technique

MT820 - 915

- General

MT820

- Physiology and Care of the Voice

MT821

- Singing. Instruction and Study, History

MT823

- Systems and Methods

MT825 - 850

- Special Techniques

MT855 - 883

- Studies & Exercises

MT885

- Interpretation, Phrasing, Expression, etc.

MT892

- Self-instructors

MT893

- Vocal Technique for Children

MT898 - 915

  1. School Music

MT918 - 949

  1. Music to Accompany Instruction in Ballet, Gymnastics, etc.

MT950

  1. Musical Theater (Production. Performing. Incl. Operas, Musicals, etc.)

MT955 - 956

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Vocal Music (聲樂)

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Vocal Music (聲樂)

Vocal Music (聲樂)

 

  1. 中國戲曲

M1807

  1. 京劇

M1805.3 / M1807.18 - M1807.3

  1. 黃梅戲

M1805.4 .A5

  1. 潮劇

M1805.4 .c5 / M1807.4 .c5

  1. 高甲戲 -- 福建省

M1805.4 .F8 / M1807.4 .k3

  1. 粵劇 -- 廣東省

M1805.4 .g8 / M1807.4 .y9

  1. 梆子戲

M1805.4 .h64 / M1807.4 .p3

  1. 豫劇

M1805.4 .h65 / M1807.4 .y7

  1. 花鼓戲

M1805.4 .H86

  1. 昆劇 (昆曲,崑劇,崑曲) -- 江蘇省

M1805.4 .j5 / M1807.4 .k9

  1. 呂劇

M1805.4 .s49

  1. 越劇

M1805.4 .s5 / M1807.4 .y8

  1. 晉劇

M1805.4 .s54

  1. 華劇 -- 陜西省

M1805.4 .s56

  1. 川劇

M1805.4 .s57 / M1807.4 .c8

  1. 紹劇

M1805.4 .z44

  1. 漢劇

M1807.4 .h2

  1. 客家戲

M1807.4 .k2

  1. 閩劇

M1807.4 .m5

  1. 評劇

M1807.4 .p5

  1. 蒲劇

M1807.4 .p8

  1. 莆仙戲

M1807.4 .p9

  1. 墜子戲

M1807.4 .z8

 

Literature on Music (音樂文獻)

 

  1. Librettos (歌詞)

 

- General (一般)

ML48 - 50

- By Subject (按劇種)

ML48.5

- 潮劇

ML48.5 .c2

- 京劇

ML48.5 .c5

- 秦腔

ML48.5 .c6

- 川劇

ML48.5 .c8

- 錫劇

ML48.5 .h7

- 桂劇

ML48.5 .k9

- 昆腔 (崑腔)

ML48.5 .k92

- 評劇

ML48.5 .p5

- 元曲

ML48.5 .y2

- 越劇

ML48.5 .y8

- By Composers (Authors) (按作者)

ML50

- e.g. 關漢卿

ML50 .k82

- 孔尚任

ML50 .k86

- 湯顯祖

ML50 .t36

  1. History and Criticism (on various kinds of Chinese operas)

    (歷史與評論) (包括不同中國戲曲劇種)

ML1751 .c4

Chinese Literature. Drama (中國文學. 戲劇)

 
  1. History and Criticism (歷史與評論)

 

- Ci (詞)

PL2336 - 2353

- Qu (曲)

PL2354 - 2355.8

- Drama (戲劇)

PL2356 - 2393

- Essay (文章)

PL2395 - 2413

  1. Collections (on special forms of drama)

合集 (特別戲劇類別)

PL2566 - 2603

Dramatic Representation. The Theater (戲劇演出. 舞台)

 
  1. Periodicals (期刊)

PN2009

  1. Theatrical Costume and Costume Design (舞台服裝及服裝設計)

pn2067

  1. Makeup (Facial) (舞台化妝,包括臉譜)

pn2068

  1. Theater : Asia (戲劇:亞洲)

PN2860

  1. Special Regions or Countries (Asia, China) 特別地區或國家 (亞洲,中國)

PN2870 - 2878

- Periodical (期刊)

PN2870

- History (歷史)

PN2871 - 2874.2

- Special Types of Theatre / States, Provinces, Cites, etc. (舞台:特別類型 / 省,縣,市等)

PN2874.5 - 2876

- e.g. 秦腔

PN2874.5 .C45

- 粵劇

PN2875 .G836

 - 昆曲

PN2875 .J53

- 京劇

PN2876 .B4

 - Biography (傳記)

PN2877 - 2878

 

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Theatre and Entertainment Arts

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Theatre and Entertainment Arts 

Arts

N - NX

  1. Visual Arts

N1 - 9211

- Theory. Philosophy. Aesthetics of the Visual Arts

N61 - 72

- Study and Teaching

N81 - 390

- Art Museums, Galleries, etc.

N400 - 3990

- Exhibitions. Private Collections and Collectors

N4390 - 5299

- History

N5300 - 7418

- General Works. Art Criticism

N7420 - 7489.2

- Special Subjects of Arts (Including Human Figures. Nude in Art. Portraits. Animals. Wildlife)

N7560 - 8266

- Art Studios, Materials, etc.

N8510 - 8553

- Examinations and Conservations of Art

N8554 - 8585

- Economics of Art.    Art and the State.    Public Art

N8600 - 9165

  1. Architecture

NA1 - 9428

- History

NA190 - 1614

- Business Management for Architects

NA1996

- Women Architects

NA1997

- Study and Teaching. Research

NA2000 - 2320

- General Works

NA2500 - 2540.5

- In Relation to Other Subjects

NA2541 - 2599.9

- Architectural Drawing and Design

NA2685 - 2793

- Daylighting. Color. Acoustics

NA2794 - 2800

- Details and Decoration

NA2835 - 4050

- Special Classes of Building

NA4100 - 8490

- Aesthetic of Cities. City Planning and Beautifying

NA9000 - 9428

  1. Sculpture

NB1 - 1952

- Exhibitions. Museums. Collections. Catalogs

NB1 - 35.5

- History. Biography

NB60 - 1114

- Study and Teaching

NB1120 - 1190

- Special Materials, Forms, Subjects … etc

NB1209 - 1952

  1. Drawing, Design, Illustration

NC1 - 1940

- History of Drawing

NC50 – 376

- Study and Teaching. Theory of Design

NC390 - 720

- Technique

NC730 - 758

- Special Subjects

NC760 - 825

- Graphic Art Materials

NC845 - 915

- Illustration

NC960 - 992

- Commercial Art. Advertising Art

NC997 - 1003

- Caricature. Pictorial Humor and Satire

NC1300 - 1766

- Posters. Pictorial Greeting Cards, Postcards … etc.

NC1800 - 1879

- Book Jackets. Phonorecord Jackets. Tobacco Package Labels. Matchbox Labels

NC1882 - 1890

  1. Painting

ND25 - 3416

- History

ND49 - 1114

- Study and Teaching

ND1115

- General Works

ND1130 - 1156

- Special Subjects

ND1288 - 1460

- Technique and Materials

ND1470 - 1625

- Examinations and Conservations

ND1630 - 1662

- Watercolor Painting

ND1700 - 2460

- Mural Painting

ND2550 - 2877

- Scene Painting

ND2885 - 2888

- Illuminating of Manuscripts and Books

ND2890 - 3416

  1. Print Media

NE1 - 3002

- Printmaking and Engraving

NE1 - 978

- Wood Engraving. Woodcuts

NE1000 - 1352

- Metal Engraving

NE1400 - 1879

- Etching and Aquatint

NE1940 - 2232.2

- Serigraphy (Silk Screen Printing)

NE2236 - 2240.6

- Lithography

NE2250 - 2529

  1. Decorative Arts. Applied Arts. Decoration and Ornament

NK1 - 9990

- History

NK600 - 1094

- Arts and Crafts Movement

NK1135 - 1149.5

- Decoration and Ornament. Design

NK1160 - 1590

- Religious Art (Christian, Non-Christian)

NK1650 - 1678

- Interior Decoration

NK1700 - 2195

- Furniture

NK2200 - 2750

- Rugs. Carpets. Tapestries. Wallpapers

NK2795 - 3498

- Other Arts and Art Industries

NK3600 - 9955

- Alphabets. Calligraphy. Initials

NK3600 - 3640

- Ceramics

NK3720 - 4695

- Costumes

NK4700 - 4890

- Metal Work

NK6405 - 8459

- Paper and Paper Articles

NK8552.5 - 8553.5

- Textiles

NK8800 - 9505.5

- Woodwork

NK9600 - 9799

  1. Arts in General

NX1 - 820

Technology

 

  1. Mechanical Drawing. Engineering Graphics

T351 - 385

  1. Electric Lighting

TK4125 - 4399

  1. Telecommunication. Computer Networks

TK5101 - 5105.9

  1. Electroacoustics. Electroacoustic Transducers

TK5981 - 5990

  1. Television

TK6630 - 6680

  1. Digital Video

TK6680.5 - 6687

  1. Applications of Electronics

TK7880 - 7895

- Sound Systems. Sound Recording. Sound Reproduction

TK7881.4 - 7881.85

- Theaters, Auditoriums, etc

TK7881.9

  1. Chemical Technology

TP1 - 1185

- Ceramic Technology. Pottery

TP807 - 823

- Textile Bleaching, Dyeing, Printing, etc.

TP890 - 933

  1. Photography

TR1 - 1050

- Digital Photography

TR267 - 267.5

- Lighting

TR590 - 620

- Applied Photography (including Artistic, Commercial, etc.)

TR623.2 - 835

- Cinematography

TR845 - 899.5

  1. Manufactures

TS1 - 2301

- Production Management. Operations Management (Incl. Production Design. Industrial Design)

TS155 - 194

- Packaging (Incl. Design)

TS195 - 198.8

- Metal Manufactures. Metalworking (Incl. Jewelry)

TS200 - 770

- Furniture

TS879.2 - 889

- Leather Industries. Tanning

TS940 - 1047

- Textile Industries. Textile Fabrics. Dry Goods

TS1300 - 1865

- Miscellaneous Industries (Incl. Audiovisual Equipment)

TS1950 2301

  1. Handicrafts. Arts and Crafts

TT1 - 999

- Woodworking. Furniture Making

TT180 - 200

- Lathework. Turning. Metalworking. Ironworking

TT201 - 240

- Stencil Work. Leatherwork. Rock, Plastic & Glass Craft

TT270 - 298

- Painting, Varnishing, Gilding, etc.

TT300 - 386

- Clothing Manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring. Dress Accessories

TT490 - 695

- Home Arts. Home Crafts (including Textile Crafts and Decorative Crafts

TT697 - 926

- Hairdressing. Beauty Culture. Barbers' Work

TT950 - 979

Costumes

 

  1. Costumes. Dress. Fashion

GT500 - 2370

- By Class (Age, Sex, Birth etc.)

GT1710 - 1745

- Masks. Disguise. Masquerade

GT1747 - 1748

- Fancy Dress. Wedding Costumes. Court Costumes. Sportswear. Uniforms (General)

GT1750 - 1900

- Headgear (Incl. Hats, Hoods, etc.). Neckwear. Ties

GT2110 - 2120

- Hairdressing. Hairstyles

GT2290 - 2320

Dramatic Representation. The Theater

PN2000 - 3307

  1. Theatrical Costume and Costume Design

PN2067

  1. Make-up

PN2068

  1. Stage Lighting

PN2091 .E4

  1. Machinery

PN2091 .M3

  1. Sound Effects of Theaters

PN2091 .S6

  1. Stage Settings, Scenery

PN2091 .S8

Technical Arts-Related Subjects

 

  1. Radio Broadcasts

PN2067

  1. Television Broadcasts

PN2068

  1. Motion Pictures

PN1993 - 1999

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Film and TV

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Film & TV

Cinematography.

TR845 - 899.5

  1. Periodicals. Societies. Collections  

TR845

  1. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias. Directories

TR847 - 847.5

  1. History

TR848

  1. Biography

TR849

  1. Treatises

TR850

  1. Elementary and Juvenile Works.  Study and Teaching  

TR851 - 852

  1. Color Cinematography. 3-D Films. Stereoscopic Motion Pictures  

TR853 - 854

  1. Wide-screen Processes. Trick Cinematography. Special Effects   

TR855 - 858

  1. Digital Cinematography  

TR860

  1. Motion Picture Machines

TR878 - 885

- Motion Picture Cameras. Cinematograph  

TR880

- Electronic Cameras. Television Cameras 

TR882 - 882.5

- Special Makes of Motion Picture Cameras. Other Special Machines

TR883 - 885

  1. Motion Picture Film: Preservation ; Splicing ; Dubbing ; Titling

TR886 - 886.9

  1. Projection.  Lighting for Motion Pictures  

TR890 - 891

  1. Applied Cinematography 

TR892 - 896.5

  1. Sound motion pictures

TR897

  1. Animated Motion Pictures

TR897.5

  1. Computer Animation

TR897.7

  1. Motion Pictures for Television  

TR898

  1. Editing of Motion Pictures

TR899 - 899.5

 

Outline of Classification Numbers

Radio Broadcasts

PN1991-1991.9

Outline of Classification Numbers

Television Broadcasts

PN1992 - 1992.92

  1. Influence. Political, Moral and Religious Aspects  

PN1992.6

  1. Motion Pictures and Television  

PN1992.63

  1. Drama in Television. Literature and Television. Performing Arts and Television  

PN1992.65 - 1992.66

  1. Authorship. Technique of Script Writing. Selling the Script

PN1992.7

  1. Production and Direction  

PN1992.75

  1. Programs. Scripts 

PN1992.77

  1. Special Topics

PN1992.8

  1. Individual Corporations

PN1992.92

Outline of Classification Numbers

Nonbroadcast Video Recordings

PN1992.93 -1992.95

Outline of Classification Numbers

Motion Pictures

PN1993 - 1999

  1. Museums, archives, exhibitions, festivals, etc. 

PN1993.4 - 1993.44

  1. Dictionaries

PN1993.45

  1. History

PN1993.5

  1. Study and teaching

PN1993.7 - 1993.8

  1. Competitions, prizes, etc.

PN1993.9 - 1993.93

  1. Laws, regulations, etc.

PN1994

  1. Anecdotes, facetiae, satire 

PN1994.9

  1. General special, including criticism, aesthetics, etc.

PN1995

  1. Relation to history

PN1995.2

  1. Relation to the arts  

PN1995.25

  1. Relation to literature  

PN1995.3

  1. Relation to ethics, etc.  

PN1995.5

  1. Censorship

PN1995.62-1995.65

  1. Locations

PN1995.67

  1. Pictures and sound. Talking pictures

PN1995.7

  1. Silent films

PN1995.75

  1. Amateur motion pictures

PN1995.8

  1. Other special topics

PN1995.9

  1. Authorship, scenario writing, etc.

PN1996

  1. Plays, scenarios, etc.: Collections

PN1997

  1. Motion pictures produced 2001- : by title of motion picture

PN1997.2

  1. Cartoon plays, scenarios, etc.

PN1997.5

  1. Plots, themes, etc.

PN1997.8

  1. Miscellaneous.  Biography 

PN1998 - 1998.3

  1. Special corporations

PN1999

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Drama

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Drama

Drama

PN1600 - 3307.2

  1. Collection of drama work

PN1621 - 1623

  1. Dictionaries

PN1625

  1. Philosophy, aesthetics, scope, relations, etc. 

PN1631 - 1650

- General works

PN1631

- Special topics (e.g. Communism, Feminism, Semiotics, etc.)

PN1633

- Relation to special subjects 

PN1635 - 1650

  1. General works on the drama and the stage 

PN1654 -1655

  1. Technique of dramatic composition

PN1660 - 1693

  1. Study and teaching

PN1701 - 1701.5

  1. Criticism, including criticism of dramatic presentation.  Biography of critics

PN1707 - 1708

  1. Characters, heroes, heroines  

PN1711

  1. History of drama of different periods (including Medieval, Renaissance, Modern, etc.)

PN1720 - 1861.2

  1. Special types of drama

PN1864.2 - 1988.2

- Religious plays

PN1880

- Tragedy

PN1892 - 1899

- Melodrama 

PN1912

- Comedy 

PN1922 - 1929

- Interludes, masques, etc. 

PN1934

- Monodrama

PN1936

- Farces. Burlesques. Mimes 

PN1942 - 1949

- Clowns  

PN1955

- Vaudeville. Varieties 

PN1962 - 1969

- Puppet theater 

PN1972 - 1982

- Pantomimes

PN1985 – 1987

  1. Broadcasting (including Dictionaries, History, Special topics)

PN1990 - 1990.9

  1. Radio & Television broadcasts

PN1991 - 1992.92

  1. Nonbroadcast video recordings

PN1992.93 - 1992.95

  1. Motion pictures (including criticism, aesthetics, etc.)

PN1993 - 1999

- Authorship, scenario writing, etc.

PN1996

- Plays, scenarios, etc.

PN1997 - 1997.85

- Miscellaneous.  Special corporations

PN1998 - 1999

  1. Dramatic representation. The theater 

PN2000 - 3307

- Periodicals. Yearbooks

PN2000 - 2012

- Collections (including various & individual authors)

PN2020 - 2021

- Dictionaries. Terminology  

PN2035

- General works on the theater 

PN2036 - 2037

- Addresses, essays, lectures

PN2038

- Philosophy, aesthetics, relation to other arts, etc.

PN2039 - 2051

- Management, administration, production, and direction

PN2053

- Acting 

PN2055 - 2073

- Study and teaching (including General works, Selections for practice, etc.)  

PN2075 - 2080

- Special methods of presentation

PN2081

- The stage and accessories

PN2085 - 2091

- Satire, humor, etc.

PN2095

- Biography of stage designers 

PN2096

- History of theater (including Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, Modern)

PN2100 - 2193

- Biography. Collections

PN2204.2 - 2217

- Special Topics

PN2219

- Special regions or countries

PN2219.3 - 3030

- Amateur theater

PN3151 - 3171

- College and school theatricals  

PN3175 - 3191

Prose.  Prose fiction

PN3311 - 3503.2

  1. Technique. Authorship

PN3355 - 3383

- General

PN3355

- Special Forms, Subjects, etc.

PN3365 - 3377.5

- The Novel

PN3365

- The Short Story

PN3372

- Juvenile Stories

PN3377

- Special aspects of technique 

PN3378 - 3383

- Plots

PN3378

  1. Special kinds of fiction. Fiction genres. Science fiction 

PN3427 - 3448

  1. History

PN3451 - 3503.2

Oratory 

PN4001 - 4500.2

  1. Oratory. Elocution, etc.

PN4001 - 4355

- Treatises. Compends. Textbooks—20th century

PN4121 - 4129

- Treatises. Compends. Textbooks—21st century

PN4129.15 - 4129.9

- Special—Reading, emphasis, etc. Oral interpretation (including General works, Poetry. Poetry readings )

PN4145 – 4151.2

- Special - Expression (including Theory. Philosophy , The voice, Gestures)

PN4155 - 4165

- Exercises—Drill books. Voice culture

PN4197

- Recitations (in English)

PN4199 - 4321

 

Drama-Related Subjects 

 

  1. Collections of general literature—Drama (including English, Chinese, etc.)

PN 6110.5 - 6120

- Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts Productions

PN6119.C5 H6

- Plays (Typescript)

PN6119.C5 H62

- One-act plays

PN6120.O5

- Television plays

PN6120.T4

- Fiction (including English, Chinese, etc.)

PN6120.15 - 6120.95

  1. Musical Theater

MT955 - 956

Dramatists & History of Drama of Different Countries

 

  1. Greek literature

PA3050 - 4505

- Literary history—Drama

PA3131 - 3238

- Translations 

PA3601 - 3681

- Aeschylus

PA3825 - 3849

- Aristophanes

PA3875 - 3888

- Euripides

PA3973 - 3992

- Homer

PA4018 - 4209

- Menander, of Athens

PA4245 - 4247

- Sophocles

PA4413 - 4434

  1. Roman literature 

PA6000 - 6971

  1. Russian literature

PG2899.2 - 3698

- Literary history and criticism

PG2899.2 - 3190

- Collections of Russian Drama

PG3240 - 3255

- Individual authors and works (including translations)

 

  1. Czech literature

PG5000 - 5146

  1. Polish literature

PG7001 - 7446

  1. Uralic. Basque literature (including Finnish, Hungarian, etc.)

PH1 - 5490

  1. Oriental philology and literature 

PJ1 - 9500

  1. Indo-Iranian philology and literature 

PK1 - 9601

  1. Japanese literature

PL700 - 889

  1. Korean literature

PL950 - 998

  1. Chinese literature

PL2250 - 3208

- History and criticism of Chinese drama

PL2250 - 2443

- Collections of Chinese drama

PL2450 - 2653

- Translations (from Chinese into foreign languages)

PL2655 - 2659

- Individual authors and works

PL2661 - 2979

- Chinese literature outside China 

PL3033 - 3208

  1. French literature

PQ1 - 3999

- Literary history and criticism 

PQ1 - 771

- History of French literature—Drama-20th century 

PQ556 - 558

- Collections - Drama - Translations into foreign languages

PQ1240 - 1241 

- Modern French literature—Individual authors—17th, 18th, 19th century (including translations)

PQ1710 - 2551

- Modern French literature—Individual authors—1900-1960 (including translations)

PQ2600 - 2651

- Modern French literature—Individual authors - 1961-2000 (including translations)

PQ2660 - 2686

- French literature outside of France (Including Canada, Africa, etc.)

PQ3809 - 3999

  1. Italian literature 

PQ4001 - 5999

- Literary history and criticism

PQ4001 - 4199.5

- Collections (including translations)

PQ4201 - 4263

- Individual authors (including translations)

PQ4265 - 4886

  1. Spanish literature

PQ6001 - 8929

- Literary history and criticism

PQ6001 - 6168

- Collections (including translations)

PQ6170 - 6269

- Individual authors (including translations)

PQ6271 - 6726

  1. English literature

PR1 - 9680

- History of English Drama

PR621 - 744

- Collections of English literature-Drama (including translations)

PR1241 - 1273

- Collections of English literature-Prose

PR1281 - 1309

- English renaissance (1500-1640)—The drama

PR2411 - 3195

- 17th and 18th centuries (1640-1770)

PR3291 - 3785

- 19th century, 1770/1800-1890/1900

PR3991 - 5990

- From1900-1960

PR6000 - 6049

- From 1961-2000

PR6050 - 6076

- From 2001-

PR6100 - 6126

  1. American literature 

PS1 - 3626

- History of American Drama

PS330 - 353

- Collections of American literature-Drama

PS623 - 635

- Collections of American literature-Prose (including short stories)

PS642 - 659.5

- Individual authors (including translations)

PS700 - 3626

  1. German literature 

PT1 - 4897

- History of German Drama

PT605 - 709

- Collections of German Drama

PT1251 - 1299

- Individual authors or works (including translations)

PT1501 - 2728

  1. Dutch literature

PT5001 - 5980

  1. Flemish literature since 1830 

PT6000 - 6467.36

  1. Afrikaans literature

PT6500 - 6593.36

  1. Scandinavian literature 

PT7001 - 7099

  1. Danish literature 

PT7601 - 8260

  1. Norwegian literature 

PT8301 - 9155

- Individual authors or works-From 19th century (including translations)

PT8800 - 8942

  1. Swedish literature

PT9201 - 9999

- Individual authors or works-From 19th century-2000 (including translations)

PT9650 - 9876.36

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Dance

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Dance 

Dance

GV1580 - 1799.4

1.    Periodicals. Serials

GV1580

2.    Congresses

GV1583

3.    Dictionaries. Encyclopedia

GV1585

4.    Terminology. Abbreviations. Notation

GV1587

5.    Directories

GV1587.5

6.    Archives

GV1587.8

7.    Philosophy

GV1588 - 1588.6

- General Works

GV1588

- Relation to Aesthetics

GV1588.3

- Relation to Education

GV1588.4

- Relation to Psychology

GV1588.5

- Relation to Society

GV1588.6

8.    Study and Teaching. Research

GV1589

- Dance School

GV1589.4

9.    General Works

GV1590 - 1595

- Early through 1850

GV1590

- 1851 - 1974

GV1593

- 1975 ᅳ

GV1594

- General Special (special aspects of the subject as a whole)

GV1595

10. Pictorial Works

GV1596

11. Juvenile Works

GV1596.5

12. Dancing as a Profession

GV1597

13. Addresses Essays, Lectures

GV1599

14. Dance Criticism. Appreciation

GV1600

15. History of Dance by Period

GV1601 - 1619

- General (1851 - )

GV1601

- General Special

GV1603

- Classical

GV1611

- Modern

GV1617 - 1619

16. History of Dance by Region

GV1621 - 1728

- America

GV1621 - 1641

- Europe

GV1643 - 1688

- Asia

GV1689 - 1703

- Arab Countries

GV1704

- Africa

GV1705 - 1713

- Australia

GV1715 - 1716

- New Zealand

GV1719 - 1720

- Pacific Islands

GV1727 - 1728

17.    Ethics. Dancing and the Church

GV1740 - 1741

18.    National Dances. Folk Dances and Dancing (General)

GV1743

19.    Social Dancing. Ballroom Dancing

GV1746 - 1771

- Balls. Dance Parties

GV1746 - 1750.8

- Techniques

GV1751 - 1753

- Study and Teaching. Research

GV1753.5 - 1754

- Waltz

GV1761

- Square Dances. Quadrilles. Country Dances

GV1763 - 1767

20.    Dancing in Motion Pictures, Television, etc.

GV1779

21.    Theatrical Dancing

GV1781 - 1795

- General Works

GV1781

- Improvisation

GV1781.2

- Production and Staging

GV1782

- Choreography

GV1782.5

- Individual Dances

GV1782.6 - 1782.62

- Modern or Expressionistic Dance. Revival of Classical Dance

GV1783 - 1783.2

- Religious Dance

GV1783.5

- Jazz Dance

GV1784

- Biography

GV1785

- Dance Groups or Companies

GV1785.8 - 1786

- Ballet

GV1786.32 - 1790

- General Works

GV1787

- Technique

GV1788 - 1788.2

- Study and Teaching. Research

GV1788.5 - 1788.6

- Safety Measures. Accident Prevention

GV1789

- Equipment and Supplies (incl. Costume, Slippers, etc.)

GV1789.2

- Individual Ballets

GV1790

- Clog Dancing. Jig. Step Dancing

GV1793

- Tap Dancing

GV1794 - 1794.5

- Other Theatrical Dances

GV1795

22.    Special Dances (e.g. Cha-Cha, Polka, Tango, etc.)

GV1796 .A-Z

- Bharata Natyam

GV1796 .B4

- Cha-cha

GV1796 .C2

- Flamenco. Cante hondo

GV1796 .F55

- Tango

GV1796 .T3

23.    Gymnastic Dancing. Rhythmic Exercises

GV1798 - 1798.8

- General Works

GV1798

- Belly Dancing

GV1798.5

- Jazz Exercise

GV1798.6

24.    Dancing for Special Classes of Persons

GV1799 - 1799.4

- Children

GV1799

- People with Disabilities

GV1799.2

- Older People

GV1799.3

- Women

GV1799.4

Physical Education and Training

GV201 - 555

  1. Periodicals. Serials. Societies. Dictionaries. Directories

GV201 - 208

  1. History

GV211 - 328

  1. General Works

GV341

  1. Philosophy. Relation to Other Topics

GV342 - 342.5

  1. Organization and Administration

GV343.5

  1. Safety Measures

GV344

  1. Study and Teaching. Research

GV361 - 368

  1. Physical Education Facilities. Sports Facilities

GV401 - 433

  1. Physical Tests. Fitness Tests

GV436 - 436.7

  1. Physical Education Training for Special Classes of Persons

GV439 - 447

  1. Movement Education

GV452

  1. Gymnastics. Gymnastic Exercises

GV460 - 553

- General Works

GV461

- Exercises for Grace and Expression, incl. Delsarte System

GV463

- Gymnastics for children

GV464.5

 

- Calisthenics. Group Exercises

GV481 - 510

- General Works

GV481

- Exercises for women

GV482

- Tai Chi. Tai Ji Quan

GV504 - 504.6

- Others (e.g. Stretching)

GV505

- Weight Training. Weight Lifting. Body Building

GV545.5 - 548

  1. Acrobatics. Trapeze Work. Rope and Wire Walking

GV550 - 555

Other Related Topics

 

  1. Art of Acting

PN2061 - 2071

- Theatrical costume and costume design

PN2067

- Theatrical Makeup

PN2068

  1. Costume. Dress. Fashion

GT500 - 2370

  1. Dance Bibliographies

Z7514 .D2

  1. Dance Injuries

RC1220 .D35

  1. Dance Music

ML3400 - 3465

- Ballet Dance Music (History & Criticism)

ML3460

  1. Dance Photography

TR817.5

  1. Dance Therapy

RJ505 .D3

  1. Dramatic Music

MT95

  1. Musical Films. Rock Musical Films

PN1995.9 .M86

  1. Musical Theater

MT955 - 956

  1. Pantomimes

PN1985 - 1988