Skip to main content

Subject Guide - Drama

Finding Print and Physical Items

To search for print / physical materials, refine your results by specifying the "Availability" or the "Resource Type" listed on the right. 

Search

undefined

undefined

Finding Playscripts and other Resources

The Library makes a lot of effort in collecting local and translated playscripts for our collection. If you know of any that you think the library should collect, please send your recommendations to "Suggest a Purchase".

To find playscripts, you can search by play title or author, or the keyword "playscripts".

You can further limit the language to "Chinese" to find the Chinese playscripts.

Combine "Subject" containing "Drama" and "Translations into Chinese" but not "Operas, Chinese" to find plays translated into Chinese.

Other related subject headings include the following:

  • Children's plays
  • One-act plays
  • Tragedy
  • Comedy

For plays of different origins, you can search using:

  • American drama
  • English drama
  • French drama
  • German drama
  • Greek drama
  • Italian drama
  • Japanese drama
  • Russian drama

To find past performances of the School of Drama, use Advanced Search:

To find videos of past performances, use Advanced Search

 

& Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts School of Drama

and Location = AV - CF AV-DVD

 

 

 

 

To find dissertations of the Academy, use Advanced Search:

To find dissertations of the School of Drama, use Advanced Search:

Drama in Education - Suggested Readings

Outline of Classification Numbers related to Drama

The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme for shelving of materials. Please see below Outline of Classification Numbers related to Drama

Drama

PN1600 - 3307.2

  1. Collection of drama work

PN1621 - 1623

  1. Dictionaries

PN1625

  1. Philosophy, aesthetics, scope, relations, etc. 

PN1631 - 1650

- General works

PN1631

- Special topics (e.g. Communism, Feminism, Semiotics, etc.)

PN1633

- Relation to special subjects 

PN1635 - 1650

  1. General works on the drama and the stage 

PN1654 -1655

  1. Technique of dramatic composition

PN1660 - 1693

  1. Study and teaching

PN1701 - 1701.5

  1. Criticism, including criticism of dramatic presentation.  Biography of critics

PN1707 - 1708

  1. Characters, heroes, heroines  

PN1711

  1. History of drama of different periods (including Medieval, Renaissance, Modern, etc.)

PN1720 - 1861.2

  1. Special types of drama

PN1864.2 - 1988.2

- Religious plays

PN1880

- Tragedy

PN1892 - 1899

- Melodrama 

PN1912

- Comedy 

PN1922 - 1929

- Interludes, masques, etc. 

PN1934

- Monodrama

PN1936

- Farces. Burlesques. Mimes 

PN1942 - 1949

- Clowns  

PN1955

- Vaudeville. Varieties 

PN1962 - 1969

- Puppet theater 

PN1972 - 1982

- Pantomimes

PN1985 – 1987

  1. Broadcasting (including Dictionaries, History, Special topics)

PN1990 - 1990.9

  1. Radio & Television broadcasts

PN1991 - 1992.92

  1. Nonbroadcast video recordings

PN1992.93 - 1992.95

  1. Motion pictures (including criticism, aesthetics, etc.)

PN1993 - 1999

- Authorship, scenario writing, etc.

PN1996

- Plays, scenarios, etc.

PN1997 - 1997.85

- Miscellaneous.  Special corporations

PN1998 - 1999

  1. Dramatic representation. The theater 

PN2000 - 3307

- Periodicals. Yearbooks

PN2000 - 2012

- Collections (including various & individual authors)

PN2020 - 2021

- Dictionaries. Terminology  

PN2035

- General works on the theater 

PN2036 - 2037

- Addresses, essays, lectures

PN2038

- Philosophy, aesthetics, relation to other arts, etc.

PN2039 - 2051

- Management, administration, production, and direction

PN2053

- Acting 

PN2055 - 2073

- Study and teaching (including General works, Selections for practice, etc.)  

PN2075 - 2080

- Special methods of presentation

PN2081

- The stage and accessories

PN2085 - 2091

- Satire, humor, etc.

PN2095

- Biography of stage designers 

PN2096

- History of theater (including Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, Modern)

PN2100 - 2193

- Biography. Collections

PN2204.2 - 2217

- Special Topics

PN2219

- Special regions or countries

PN2219.3 - 3030

- Amateur theater

PN3151 - 3171

- College and school theatricals  

PN3175 - 3191

Prose.  Prose fiction

PN3311 - 3503.2

  1. Technique. Authorship

PN3355 - 3383

- General

PN3355

- Special Forms, Subjects, etc.

PN3365 - 3377.5

- The Novel

PN3365

- The Short Story

PN3372

- Juvenile Stories

PN3377

- Special aspects of technique 

PN3378 - 3383

- Plots

PN3378

  1. Special kinds of fiction. Fiction genres. Science fiction 

PN3427 - 3448

  1. History

PN3451 - 3503.2

Oratory 

PN4001 - 4500.2

  1. Oratory. Elocution, etc.

PN4001 - 4355

- Treatises. Compends. Textbooks—20th century

PN4121 - 4129

- Treatises. Compends. Textbooks—21st century

PN4129.15 - 4129.9

- Special—Reading, emphasis, etc. Oral interpretation (including General works, Poetry. Poetry readings )

PN4145 – 4151.2

- Special - Expression (including Theory. Philosophy , The voice, Gestures)

PN4155 - 4165

- Exercises—Drill books. Voice culture

PN4197

- Recitations (in English)

PN4199 - 4321

 

Drama-Related Subjects 

 

  1. Collections of general literature—Drama (including English, Chinese, etc.)

PN 6110.5 - 6120

- Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts Productions

PN6119.C5 H6

- Plays (Typescript)

PN6119.C5 H62

- One-act plays

PN6120.O5

- Television plays

PN6120.T4

- Fiction (including English, Chinese, etc.)

PN6120.15 - 6120.95

  1. Musical Theater

MT955 - 956

Dramatists & History of Drama of Different Countries

 

  1. Greek literature

PA3050 - 4505

- Literary history—Drama

PA3131 - 3238

- Translations 

PA3601 - 3681

- Aeschylus

PA3825 - 3849

- Aristophanes

PA3875 - 3888

- Euripides

PA3973 - 3992

- Homer

PA4018 - 4209

- Menander, of Athens

PA4245 - 4247

- Sophocles

PA4413 - 4434

  1. Roman literature 

PA6000 - 6971

  1. Russian literature

PG2899.2 - 3698

- Literary history and criticism

PG2899.2 - 3190

- Collections of Russian Drama

PG3240 - 3255

- Individual authors and works (including translations)

 

  1. Czech literature

PG5000 - 5146

  1. Polish literature

PG7001 - 7446

  1. Uralic. Basque literature (including Finnish, Hungarian, etc.)

PH1 - 5490

  1. Oriental philology and literature 

PJ1 - 9500

  1. Indo-Iranian philology and literature 

PK1 - 9601

  1. Japanese literature

PL700 - 889

  1. Korean literature

PL950 - 998

  1. Chinese literature

PL2250 - 3208

- History and criticism of Chinese drama

PL2250 - 2443

- Collections of Chinese drama

PL2450 - 2653

- Translations (from Chinese into foreign languages)

PL2655 - 2659

- Individual authors and works

PL2661 - 2979

- Chinese literature outside China 

PL3033 - 3208

  1. French literature

PQ1 - 3999

- Literary history and criticism 

PQ1 - 771

- History of French literature—Drama-20th century 

PQ556 - 558

- Collections - Drama - Translations into foreign languages

PQ1240 - 1241 

- Modern French literature—Individual authors—17th, 18th, 19th century (including translations)

PQ1710 - 2551

- Modern French literature—Individual authors—1900-1960 (including translations)

PQ2600 - 2651

- Modern French literature—Individual authors - 1961-2000 (including translations)

PQ2660 - 2686

- French literature outside of France (Including Canada, Africa, etc.)

PQ3809 - 3999

  1. Italian literature 

PQ4001 - 5999

- Literary history and criticism

PQ4001 - 4199.5

- Collections (including translations)

PQ4201 - 4263

- Individual authors (including translations)

PQ4265 - 4886

  1. Spanish literature

PQ6001 - 8929

- Literary history and criticism

PQ6001 - 6168

- Collections (including translations)

PQ6170 - 6269

- Individual authors (including translations)

PQ6271 - 6726

  1. English literature

PR1 - 9680

- History of English Drama

PR621 - 744

- Collections of English literature-Drama (including translations)

PR1241 - 1273

- Collections of English literature-Prose

PR1281 - 1309

- English renaissance (1500-1640)—The drama

PR2411 - 3195

- 17th and 18th centuries (1640-1770)

PR3291 - 3785

- 19th century, 1770/1800-1890/1900

PR3991 - 5990

- From1900-1960

PR6000 - 6049

- From 1961-2000

PR6050 - 6076

- From 2001-

PR6100 - 6126

  1. American literature 

PS1 - 3626

- History of American Drama

PS330 - 353

- Collections of American literature-Drama

PS623 - 635

- Collections of American literature-Prose (including short stories)

PS642 - 659.5

- Individual authors (including translations)

PS700 - 3626

  1. German literature 

PT1 - 4897

- History of German Drama

PT605 - 709

- Collections of German Drama

PT1251 - 1299

- Individual authors or works (including translations)

PT1501 - 2728

  1. Dutch literature

PT5001 - 5980

  1. Flemish literature since 1830 

PT6000 - 6467.36

  1. Afrikaans literature

PT6500 - 6593.36

  1. Scandinavian literature 

PT7001 - 7099

  1. Danish literature 

PT7601 - 8260

  1. Norwegian literature 

PT8301 - 9155

- Individual authors or works-From 19th century (including translations)

PT8800 - 8942

  1. Swedish literature

PT9201 - 9999

- Individual authors or works-From 19th century-2000 (including translations)

PT9650 - 9876.36