Skip to main content

Library Guides -Trial by Ada

Electronic Resources

New ER Additions

BBC Video Collection

The BBC Video Collection combines 700 of the most-viewed BBC films and documentaries. Topics in the collection span multiple subjects, such as history, science, business, art, music, health and more.

Alexander Street Press Databases

It offers access and cross search of resources from Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online, BroadwayHD Collection, Dance Online: Dance in Video, Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection, Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library, Film Scripts Online, Filmakers Library Online, Music Online: Classical Music in Video, Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Music Online: Opera in Video, The BBC Video Collection, and Theatre in Video.

Dance in Video

Provides 900 hours of video content covering the 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.

Google Scholar Search

Gallery

test


The Electronic Collection has been developed to provide access to information beyond its physical boundary. Discover our online collections and what can be available to support your studies or research.

Discover collections >

Searching Primo

Librarian's Recommendations

Harry Potter

Throughout the making of the eight Harry Potter movies, designers and craftspeople were tasked with creating fabulous chocolate-fantasy feasts, flying brooms, enchanted maps, and much more, in addition to numerous magical items necessary in a wizard's everyday life--for example, newspapers with moving photos, vicious textbooks, and Howlers. Harry Potter: The Artifact Vault chronicles the work of the graphics department in creating vibrant and imaginative labels for potions bottles, brooms, and candy; the creation of Quidditch Quaffles, Bludgers, and Golden Snitches, lovingly crafted by the prop making team; and the stunning inventiveness used by the entire crew to create a rich, bewitched filmic universe.

Accompanying the captivating text are never-before-seen art and design concepts, unit photography, and other filmmaking secrets from the Warner Bros. archive. This striking full-color compendium includes two exclusive bonus inserts--a booklet showcasing the design of The Tales of Beedle the Bard prop and a Black Family Tapestry poster--as well as many more surprises.

Drama Research Methods: Provocations of Practice

At a time when universities demand immediate and quantifiable impacts of scholarship, the voices of research participants become secondary to impact factors and the volume of research produced. Moreover, what counts as research within the academy constrains practices and methods that may more authentically articulate the phenomena being studied. When external forces limit methodological practices, research innovation slows and homogenizes. This book aims to address the methodological, interpretive, ethical/procedural challenges and tensions within theatre-based research with a goal of elevating our field's research practice and inquiry. Each chapter embraces various methodologies, positionalities and examples of mediation by inviting two or more leading researchers to interrogated each other's work and, in so doing, highlighted current debates and practices in theatre-based research. Topics include: ethics, method, audience, purpose, mediation, form, aesthetics, voice, data generation, and research participants. Each chapter frames a critical dialogue between researchers that take multiple forms (dialogic interlude, research conversation, dramatic narrative, duologue, poetic exchange, etc.).

How Art Works

There is no end of talk and of wondering about "art" and "the arts." This book examines a number of questions about the arts (broadly defined to include all of the arts). Some of these questions come from philosophy. Examples include:DT What makes something art?DT Can anything be art?DT Do we experience "real" emotions from the arts?DT Why do we seek out and even cherish sorrow and fear from art when we go out of our way to avoid these very emotions in real life?DT How do we decide what is good art? Do aesthetic judgments have any objective truth value?DT Why do we devalue fakes even if we -- indeed, even the experts--- can't tell them apart from originals?DT Does fiction enhance our empathy and understanding of others? Is art-making therapeutic?Others are "common sense" questions that laypersons wonder about. Examples include:DT Does learning to play music raise a child's IQ?DT Is modern art something my kid could do?DT Is talent a matter of nature or nurture?This book examines puzzles about the arts wherever their provenance - as long as there is empirical research using the methods of social science (interviews, experimentation, data collection, statistical analysis) that can shed light on these questions. The examined research reveals how ordinarypeople think about these questions, and why they think the way they do - an inquiry referred to as intuitive aesthetics. The book shows how psychological research on the arts has shed light on and often offered surprising answers to such questions.

William Forsythe

This stunning and comprehensive book presents acclaimed artist William Forsythe, whose work is at the intersection of performance, sculpture, and installation. Since the 1990s, parallel to his stage productions, Forsythe has developed a body of work he calls "Choreographic Objects". These experimental, interactive works invite the viewer to engage with the fundamental ideas of choreography and extend Forsythe's choreographic explorations beyond the stage and skilled professionals to public spaces and the layperson. This volume considers the full breadth of his oeuvre and features contributions from leading scholars, critics, and theorists in the disciplines of visual arts, choreography, and dance. Forsythe's highly engaging voice shines through in his own writing, which enriches and deepens the scholarly essays in the book. In addition, the book features an illustrated chronology of The Forsythe Company (2005-15), the artist's dance troupe that followed his legendary tenure at Ballett Frankfurt. Generously illustrated, this volume is certain to become a reference book for Forsythe's many fans as well as an invaluable resource for students of visual art, dance, and interdisciplinary practice. Copublished by the Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston and DelMonico Books

Library News

What's New?

Theme Display